top of page


Drug-Free All Stars Complete Project Sticker Shock

Updated: Apr 4, 2023

The Drug-Free All Stars of Angelina County, funded by a grant from TxDOT, recently completed their annual event, Project Sticker Shock. The Project Sticker Shock campaign is aimed at preventing underage drinking by asking adults not to provide alcohol for minors. The 62 Drug-Free All Stars stickered 28 grocery and convenience stores throughout Angelina County to help prevent underage alcohol use. The Coalition, Inc. and the Drug-Free All Stars would like to thank Brookshire Brothers, La Michoacana Meat Market, Hernandez Grocery, Big’s convenience stores, Walgreens on Frank Ave., and Coleman’s convenience store for participating in this year’s Project Sticker Shock. The Coalition hopes Project Sticker Shock makes the community aware of the dangers of providing alcohol to minors; not only is it against the law, but it can have deadly consequences. Pineywoods Community Academy Drug-Free All Star, Shadye Forrest, commented “Project Sticker Shock is important because it not only reminds people of the danger of providing alcohol to minors, but it also does it in a way that is pretty hard to ignore. The campaign allows minors to directly be involved in the push to end teen drinking, which I think is a really powerful thing for the community to get to witness, and for us to be a part of.” Research shows that teens who start drinking before age 15 are four times more likely to develop substance dependence later in life than those who wait to drink until age 21 or older.

Pictured are attendees at the Project Sticker Shock Press Conference earlier this month. First row, from left to right are Rachel Bonnin, Lufkin HS All Star; Martarosa Velazquez, Brookshire Brothers; Ally Lea, Lufkin HS All Star; Suzy Childers, Coalition Board member; Kylie Ridings, Lufkin HS All Star; and Chloe Camp, Lufkin HS All Star. Next row are Rachel Farrell, Brookshire Brothers; Carolina Lopez, The Coalition; Maci Dover, Coalition Board member; Helena Nerren, Pineywoods Community Academy All Star; Macy True, Pineywoods Community Academy All Star; Shadye Forrest, Pineywoods Community Academy All Star; Jordan Hardy, Hudson HS All Star; Kelly Morris, Lufkin District Engineer Texas Department of Transportation; and Hannah Spikes, Lufkin HS All Star. Back row from left to right are Abby Bennett, Lufkin HS All Star; Melissa Crager, Brookshire Brothers; Jeff Walker, Coalition Board member; John Flowers, Pineywoods Community Academy All Star; Preston Jelinek, Lufkin HS All Star; and Chip Buchanan, Lufkin HS All Star. Also pictured in attendance are representatives from Texas Department of Transportation.

John Flowers, Pineywoods Community Academy Drug-Free All Star, and Jordan Hardy, Hudson High School Drug-Free All Star, stickering packages of alcohol.

Diboll Drug-Free All Stars Kaelyn Abott, Dayenara Lopez,Kimberly Lopez, Haley Wallace, Shemarian Harrison, and Adrianna Martinez at their Project Sticker Shock Shift.

Lufkin High School Drug-Free All Stars Ally Lea, Chloe Camp, and Kylie Ridings after stickering at Big’s in Lufkin.

Since 1988, The Coalition has focused on eliminating the use of harmful substances by affecting public policy, laws, attitudes and behaviors, all in an effort to foster healthy life-long choices for the local community. The Drug-Free All Stars are a group of high school seniors that serve as role models for the community by living an alcohol, tobacco, and drug-free life. For more information about the Drug-Free All Star program, contact Abby Baker at The Coalition at 936-634-9308.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page